Render tutorial: Rendering with HDRI - Brazil

Posted by zeppelin101 
Render tutorial: Rendering with HDRI - Brazil
Date: April 25, 2006 12:54PM
Posted by: zeppelin101
Right, this guide is for absolute beginners :) But you can skip down if there is something you are unsure of ;-)

First thing to do is to set up your shape and textures for rendering. Ideally, you want lod_0 and al hi-res textures. Open up your lod_0 with 3d editor, and then save it; this will unlock the .gp4 file for use with ZM. In Photoshop (or equivalent), flip the textures vertically, and save them as a 32-bit file (or as .bmp if you're feeling generous with your hard disk space). You may need to rename the textures if the names are more than 8 letters.

ZM

Import your shape into ZM. Then go to material editor (the red sphere at the top of the toolbar) and add / replace your textures. If you are using a helmet for your render, we'll sort that out later. Select all car objects and with SEL activated (space bar) go to create > objects > unite select, and name it "car1".

Next, import a tyre and rim set for your car. There are a few about, you'll just have to do a bit of searching. Once you are sure that they're in the perfect position, select the car and tires, and merge them naming it "car".

With a helmet, do the same as you did with the shape, and rename your textures to 1_1 and 1_2, also removing alpha layers on both textures. Then merge the two helmet parts into one object. Don't merge it with the car, so you can move it around later in 3ds.

Export it to .3ds format and wait for it to save.

3ds max