Posted by: zeppelin101
Lo2k Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
>
> .col file is not a collision file.
> even if you create a 3d bollard with .col faces,
> car will pass trough with no effect.
>

If that's the case, why do the rails have to have a hard surface over them in the .col? If the physics held the collision data then surely it would have to specify what the banks were?

Re: *****GP4 Track editing - The new thread*****
Date: August 23, 2005 09:09PM
Posted by: Dave_Wortley
Hi Lo2k, first, I have been a long long long silent visitor of this thread and am incredibly impressed with what you have done with the track editor,

I am a professional 3dsmax user, and am envolved with the games industry,

I just thought i'd bring something up in regards to exporting data from 3dsmax to a possible gp4 data, I'm assuming that the 3d models have no Flags of data or anything, but you might not be aware of something that is used in the games industry, it is available in the Direct X SDK (free download at microsoft.com), a convertor that converts a .3ds file to a .x file, this might be worth investigating to see if it's a better file type compatibility for importing into the Gp4 editor.

It would be fantastic if we could have the editor setup so all you had to do was create the track in the editor, export to 3dsmax, then do all the modelling and texturing in that, then import the file from max to 3deditor then place track marshalls etc, and do the CC-line I could make fantastic looking tracks in just a matter of a few hours.

hope this is of some use,

Dave Wortley
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
check out www.f1cm.co.uk
fed up of GPM, GPM2, GPW and F1 Manager?
F1cm is coming soon!!!
Date: August 23, 2005 09:19PM
Posted by: JamesM
Using 3DSM would save much headwork imvho.
Date: August 24, 2005 12:23PM
Posted by: Lo2k
Well, I'm very glad to meet you Dave.

And I would like to thank you for this advice.