[WIP] Fantasy car 2011 by Mitsuro Sano

Posted by Mitsuro Sano 
[WIP] Fantasy car 2011 by Mitsuro Sano
Date: January 26, 2011 11:45PM
Posted by: Mitsuro Sano
Hi all!

Like Hades does on his own tread, I've started a fantasy F1 shape within the 2011 regulations. The car is still WIP but for sure, there will be template for it. I didn't manage to give you a template for the 2009 cars I did, so it's a bit fair to give you template for this one!

I have got NO knowledge on aerodynamic, but for fun, I will explain why I shaped my fantasy car this way.

[B*******] begins now :) ;)

This car will run the Cosworth Engine

Within the rules of 2011, basically, RedBull's sharkfin style has been forbidden and also the roll-over bar a la Mercedes, so I decided to just have a classis engine cover with the mandatory bodywork on the engine cover.
New rules prevent any aperture on the underfloor behind the driver cockpit, in order to prevent the double diffuser. Height of the diffuser has been reduced too from 200mm to 175mm. So basically, the diffuser is less efficient, but still, is the part which give the most downforce ( with the underfloor of course ) with not a lof of drag. So I opted for a high nose, in order to put more air under the car and maximaze the diffuser effect ( U-shaped nose a la RedBull has been used in order to put the most clean air as possible under the nose ) .

The mirrors cannot be in the sidepod fin anymore since China 2010, and they cannot be fit too close to the cockpit ( like Ferrari and Redbull did last year for instance )

On this second shot, you can see that the sidepod rear end is really tight and really low, in order to make the diffuser working best with the lower and upper rear wing. Also, in a slight way, it lowered the center of gravity which have been highered by the raised nose.