Graphics Card Question

Posted by Renault#1Fan 
Re: Graphics Card Question
Date: January 10, 2012 07:50AM
Posted by: gav
XFX's warranty system was pretty awful last year (at least for European users), but Sapphire are one of the better brands. Some good coolers too. I've no experience of that one, but their Vapor-X coolers are meant to be pretty damn good.
Date: January 10, 2012 08:15AM
Posted by: Renault#1Fan
Well hope it works good, thanks for all your help gav.
Date: January 13, 2012 04:39PM
Well added the new card and it didn't improve the FPS, also for some reason it will not load the catalyst control center. I click it and the cursor moves like its loading but nothing ever pops up.
Date: January 13, 2012 06:09PM
Posted by: Robert
Wow, going from a Nvidia 9800 to an HD 6970 with no improvement? Are you sure? I can only assume your CPU is the bottleneck, but I can't think how that would be possible with any cpu from the last few years really. What CPU do you have?
Can't help regarding the CCC I'm afraid, other than suggesting trying an older version (or newer if you installed it from an included disc).

Batracer - the online racing manager game - join here :) [batracer.com]
Date: January 14, 2012 03:21AM
It added like 2 more FPS to my game, what do you mean by the CPu, not sure what that is?
Date: January 14, 2012 11:04AM
What is the game?

What is your CPU?

You've just upgraded the graphics card to one that's probably 4 times faster than your previous one.
Date: January 14, 2012 02:01PM
What's a CPU? Is it the processor or motherboard?

The game is NASCAR Racing 2003 Season, but GP4 doesn't run as good as I would like either.

Plus with the control panel not loading all the cars are jagged and I don't know how else to get the control panel for the card working.
Date: January 14, 2012 02:22PM
CPU = central processing unit, ie processor (google could have told you that though)