Can anyone recommend me a good, cheap printer?

Posted by matt3454 
Can anyone recommend me a good, cheap printer?
Date: November 20, 2008 02:01AM
Posted by: matt3454
Ok, I need a decent, but cheap, printer for uni.

of course, being a student, i dont have too much money to play around with so I need a decent inkjet with decent price refills.

thanks in advance for any advice :)

Re: Can anyone recommend me a good, cheap printer?
Date: November 20, 2008 04:15AM
Posted by: turkey_machine
Canon Pixma range. I've got an ip1500 (£49 4 years ago) that just needs new cartridges, but otherwise is working fully.

Everyone knows that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10; indeed, it's a common requirement in fairy tales. If the human didn't have to overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld

GPGSL S5 Race driver for IED.

Date: November 20, 2008 10:11AM
Posted by: gav
Colour? Photo? How many pages roughly per month?

If you're not printing photos, you can get some decent little colour lasers now that work out way cheaper than inkjets.

For inkjet, Canon Pixmas are indeed awesome though. The iP4x00 range is especially good.
Date: November 20, 2008 11:23AM
gav Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Colour? Photo? How many pages roughly per month?
>
> If you're not printing photos, you can get some
> decent little colour lasers now that work out way
> cheaper than inkjets.
>
> For inkjet, Canon Pixmas are indeed awesome
> though. The iP4x00 range is especially good.

Just mainly text and not a lot of pages a month ;), it would still need some colour once in a while though.

I'll look in the canons, as we have one downstairs, a mp500 and its fantastic.

Date: November 20, 2008 12:09PM
Posted by: NickKK