Kodak EasyShare LS755: How good is it in 2011?

Posted by EC83 
Kodak EasyShare LS755: How good is it in 2011?
Date: February 10, 2011 01:01AM
Posted by: EC83
Hey guys, something that's been bugging me for a while now, and I'd appreciate any feedback at all on this.

I love taking photos. The only digital camera I've had so far(apart from the one in my phone) is a Kodak EasyShare LS755, which is about 6 years old now. I've taken over 6000 photos on it, and always take photos on the highest resolution setting. I've been using it seriously since early 2007. It's been with me on nights out, holidays, everything. It's been dropped countless times and knocked about a bit over the years, as a result it can't zoom properly anymore, but apart from that it's still in great working order. So I'm not about to stop using it just yet. But I'm looking for potential upgrades all the time now. The situation is:

I know the camera market moves on quickly, and I also know I've developed a lot as a photographer since I started using this camera, to the point where a compact digital camera can no longer really meet my needs. Trying to make an outdated compact camera do pro camera things isn't easy.

What would be the current equivalent of a Kodak EasyShare LS755? How much better would that equivalent be?
What would be a good pro or semi-pro camera for me to upgrade to?

Regarding the upgrade, I'm seriously considering a good quality used Canon EOS 40D, maybe off of Ebay. I'm also aware that a compact camera is less clumsy and better for taking with you on nights out than a bulkier pro camera.

No figure for a budget as such, but I'd obviously be looking for something which is a big step up and also great value for money. Second-hand equipment would be fine.

What does anybody else think? Like I say, I'd value your opinions.

Re: Kodak EasyShare LS755: How good is it in 2011?
Date: February 10, 2011 06:18AM
Posted by: mortal