Racing with a front wheel drive

Posted by flat tyre 
Racing with a front wheel drive
Date: August 02, 2013 09:51PM
Posted by: flat tyre
I've bought a 3D games developing programme recently, and of course the first thing I'm making is a race sim (based on the BTCC). But, me being me, I've come across a problem already.

I have no experience whatsoever of driving a front wheel drive car at speed, in real life or on a sim. I've googled it, but most of the answers seem to be quite vague.

The problem is, I don't know if my car is handling realistically, or whether it's gone seriously wrong!

At the minute, the car understeers like mad if I corner with 0% throttle - if I approach a hairpin at 40mph, and try to corner without any throttle, then I will understeer off the road. Every time. However, if I approach a hairpin at 40mph, and accelerate as I go through it to about 60mph, then I will make the corner. As soon as I touch the accelerator, the car decides it wants to turn.

Having only raced rear wheel drives, this is proving a bit of a headache for me! So, this is where you come in - is this how a FWD behaves, or does it sound a bit wrong?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You know you want to. [judgegrudge.mybrute.com]
Re: Racing with a front wheel drive
Date: August 02, 2013 11:47PM
Posted by: smoglessbutton4
I'm used to racing FWD cars (in sim-racing) and this is what I can say...

Generally the car understeers when you put the power down (torque-steer) and has a lot of lift-off oversteer. It's a lot about using the throttle to control the balance of the car.

If you have rFactor or any of the RACE games, you can get a good idea of this. If not, download the demo of Live for Speed - that includes a FWD car ;)

I wish you good luck in your quest! :)

GPGSL -
GPGSL-3 - Pizza Party Racing manager and driver
Nations Cup - Team Scotland manager
Date: August 03, 2013 12:42AM
Posted by: ipswich2007