Gray/White cars after import to GP4?

Posted by schaller 
Gray/White cars after import to GP4?
Date: January 28, 2003 05:14AM
Posted by: schaller
I have a question for you masters of importing/exporting car files and textures to GP4.
If I modify a carshape at all using zmodeler and then export it back into GP4, all the textures from the carshape are lost and the car appears as grey.
What the heck am I doing wrong? Within Zmodeler, the car display's all the textures. Does Zmodeler do something to the names of the textures or something?
Sorry if this has been asked many other times, but I cant seem to find the answer.

Thanks for any help

Schalle
Re: Gray/White cars after import to GP4?
Date: January 28, 2003 07:20AM
Posted by: Ellis
Ok, i will expalin best i can

Say you are using these file names as textures for ZM

texture_1.bmp
texture_2.bmp
texture_3.bmp

(you know ZM needs to see them as bmp files)

What you do is this, save these files as TGA files (with an alpha layer), and then save them as tex files. So they will be this

texture_1.tex
texture_2.tex
texture_3.tex

THEN rename these files to this

hi_texture_1.tex
hi_texture_2.tex
hi_texture_3.tex

This will save the same textures but GP4 will see them as the high res ones

Use the TGA files u have of them, and half the size of them. Then save these as the orgional texture names -

texture_1.tex
texture_2.tex
texture_3.tex

GP4 should now find some sort of texture set for your car

dont forget to downsample the textures of course in GP4Master

Racing Is Life. Anything that happens before or after is just waiting
Jesus may be able to heal the sick and bring the dead back to life, but he can't do shît for low fps
Date: January 28, 2003 10:20AM
Thanks for the help.
I am able to use tga's in Zmodler. i'm using zmodler 1.7a maybe that was an ehnancement

I have not even modified the images for the car at all.