Throttle loss

Posted by sgtbilko 
Throttle loss
Date: August 27, 2002 01:47AM
Posted by: sgtbilko
Hi, Any1 know why spinning the car often, but not always, causes loss of throttle? It seems like if you spin but keep 4 wheels on track you can sometimes drive out of it but should you have 1 or more wheels on the dirt when going backwards some kind of traction control sets in & kills the throttle? I'm currently playing ace mode with all aids off (xept invulnerability of course cause I'm a rookie really).

Cheers for the good site

Phil
Re: Throttle loss
Date: August 27, 2002 10:24PM
Posted by: FBR_BDavis
The traction control and/or launch control being on will cause this issue.. I have a Logitech MOMO wheel, and one of the buttons on my wheel is programmed to turn traction control off just in case I spin off..

Also.. Too much spinning and the car being too low to the ground could cause the plank to wear down, causing a loss of power as time goes on.. This was the same in GP3.. It still makes me laugh.. Billion dollar cars with a slab of wood stuck to the bottom.. Heheh..

Butch Davis
FBR Motorsports Owner/Driver
Date: August 28, 2002 01:15AM
Thanks for that, I have traction off all the time & I thought I was driving without launch control as it disappears from my LEDs straight after a start.

I still find that the engine labours though when I'm backwards & trying to spin it up to drive out of the skids & I think maybe this behaviour is in the game physics.
It's a bit unrealistic tho imho as you'd have thought that with 860BHP on board you'd be able to use the throttle any time.

1 last thought - maybe the intelligent clutch is playing a part in this?! I have it set on "use gear change" so maybe I can improve that.

Thanks

Phil
Date: August 28, 2002 02:26PM