Graphics Card Woes

Posted by badgerf1 
Graphics Card Woes
Date: September 05, 2008 01:48PM
Posted by: badgerf1
Hi everyone

So I was very happy this morning to have by nVidia FX5200 256mb gfx card arrive to go in my ex-business HP desktop. Installed no problems at all but GP4 doesn't seem to run much better than it did previously with the onboard video card which is somewhat annoying.

I'm just running the orig game for now, haven't tried the 06 mod yet (killed my machine before) so can anyone advise on what settings I should have on the nVidia control panel and in game?

When on automatic graphics with detail/performance scale at 0 I get 17fps! Would like at least 25 without losing things such as buildings!

Thank you for any help, I'm new to the world of PC gaming after a 6yr break of gp4 and being a mac user mainly!

F1 Badger
Re: Graphics Card Woes
Date: September 05, 2008 04:08PM
Posted by: Viper-F1.com
I used to have a GeForce FX5200. Its not just down to your graphics card. Your processor will have to be quite quick too to handle the polygons of the cars. For me though, I remember having 1024x768 @ medium shapes, no rear-view mirror buildings, low pit crews, and no shadows.

Looked crap, but was the only way I could get it to run properly.

Howeverm I'm sure someone will be able to improve on that! :)
Date: September 09, 2008 02:40PM
thanks, the machine is a 2.6ghz P4 with 512mb of ram. I'll be upgrading the ram soon - cheap! so hopefully that will help.
Date: September 09, 2008 05:37PM
Posted by: sunil
increasing RAM won't help u anything better except loading bit faster than before but not graphics.