How you can divide your PO by 2 (in some cases)

Posted by Lo2k 
How you can divide your PO by 2 (in some cases)
Date: August 30, 2004 06:44PM
Posted by: Lo2k
I lastly reinstalled GP4 due to "a miss in my backup strategy" :) and then reinstalled it from ground.
But once I retried the game, I was having strange PO : about 150 on Monza starting line at starting and around 180 when passing front to the pits during race (everything with sunny weather).
I tried to delete the f1gstate.sav (and it's backup) as I advice it in my guide but nothing changed and finally deleted the f1graphics.cfg (and it's backup) and I suddenly retrieved my old performance: 95 on starting grid at startup and during race with PO decreasing to 60 quite often.

So I studied files and got the plot : dynamic environment map. With static ones, everything runs smooth.
I have to say it doesn't come from having a crapy graphical card as I have a GeForce 5900XT wich is intended to perfectly support that kind of mapping.

So my guess is that there are some troubles with DirectX 9.0c and/or some Forceware drivers (I installed 66.00 some days ago for Doom3 and Far Cry) causing very low performance with environment mapping.

So if you have some very low performances, be sure to try with static environment maps, whatever your graphical card. Result can be impressive !

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/30/2004 06:46PM by Lo2k.
Re: How you can divide your PO by 2 (in some cases)
Date: August 30, 2004 06:58PM
Posted by: yjassat
I second that - I have a slow ATI 9200 - dynamic maps are a no no for me.
Date: August 30, 2004 08:18PM
Posted by: harjinator
how can you disable that?
Date: August 30, 2004 08:26PM
Posted by: murkz
Lo2k Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------

>
> So I studied files and got the plot : dynamic
> environment map. With static ones, everything runs
> smooth.

Thanks Lo2k

Just tried it at the hires monza and my PO halfed :D

Jeff

Date: August 30, 2004 09:27PM