Great way to reduce wad size

Posted by ayazyounis 
Great way to reduce wad size
Date: April 21, 2003 06:52AM
Posted by: ayazyounis
i think. im no expert so i would like the opinion of those who are. i think most of us are installing the high res. cars from viper and others like the 2003ga, fw25, etc. now as you know this makes the wad really big approaching 100mb!!! now if you were to extract all the files in the cars.wad and then, for the high res cars you have installed, you were to delete all the low and medium textures then surely the wad size would reduce?

example, i have vipers f2003 ga installed. i open the wad, delete all ferraris low and medium textures, then recompile the wad and hey-presto, a smaller wad!

in theory anyway. havent tried it yet. wondering what the experts think?
Re: Great way to reduce wad size
Date: April 21, 2003 08:04AM
Posted by: variante_ascari
delete the unwanted files
such as the old TEX file from the original wad
that will surely reduce the size of your wad after you compile them
that's what i do :)

Date: April 21, 2003 08:09AM
Posted by: ayazyounis
which are the unwanted files exactly? what do you mean the old tex file?
Date: April 21, 2003 08:43AM
Posted by: matt
if you are playing with hi res graphics,just get rid of all tex files that do not start with hi_ and vice versa.ive got all the best cars released so far with all high lod files with only 61MB.
Date: April 21, 2003 10:40AM
Posted by: sasjag
:| My wad is about 110Mb now, just for the simple reason it's full of crap and i don't see any point in getting rid of all the uneeded stuff

Sim

All Hail The New York Giants - Winners of Superbowl XXI, XXV and XLII!

"I'd love to know what goes on in that crazy head of yours sometimes, Sim..." - Locke Cole
Date: April 21, 2003 06:10PM
Posted by: Ellis
mine is bout same as sasjags. It doesnt effect it

Racing Is Life. Anything that happens before or after is just waiting