WRC

Posted by hans 
WRC
Date: January 28, 2006 04:39PM
Posted by: hans
i know nothing of WRC cars. i heard of some group b car in 1986 was so fast that it could have taken 6th on the grid. what are these various groups a, b, n etc
Re: WRC
Date: January 28, 2006 04:45PM
Posted by: tripleM
i am no expert,but the letters refer to different technical specifications and homologation requirements

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/28/2006 04:49PM by tripleM.
Date: January 28, 2006 05:20PM
Posted by: Vader
WRC actually belongs into the off-topic section, since this is strictly speaking an F1 forum.

REHAB IS FOR QUITTERS
Date: January 28, 2006 05:35PM
Posted by: Lemming
i think there should be a motorsports section, as well as f1. off-topic isn't really all that good for this, it's still motorsport, as is f1!

Date: January 28, 2006 05:50PM
Posted by: harjinator
Group B were souped up versions of the normal rally cars. They were banned after some drivers and spectators were killed in 1986 (I think). A Lancia one was fast enough to have taken 6th place on the grid for the Portugese GP...

Team Japan Owner - GPGNC
Date: January 28, 2006 07:24PM
Posted by: Battousai
The Lancia Delta S4 was a monster for it's time... now I don't remember many data about but I'm sure that was a 4WD, 600HP monster with two supercharger systems (volumex and turbo) with some sort of ground effect body and . the chassis was made with a magnesium alloy that demonstrated all his dangerous side when during the Corse Rally in 1986, Henry Toivonen lost the control of his car and went in a slope. There was a quick and huge fire and Toivonen and his navigator, Cresto, died because of that.
B monsters were put aside at the end of 1986 for the more human A and N groups.
While A group was still a "born to race" class with very good performances you can consider N group similar, in some way, to the SuperBike class.

bye

Battousai
Date: January 28, 2006 08:19PM
Posted by: mikef1