track editor problems

Posted by salvasirignano 
track editor problems
Date: January 22, 2008 03:26PM
Posted by: salvasirignano
Hello there.
A while ago I downloaded Marc Aart's Laguna Seca track, (which is the only one I can find). Unfortunately there is a slight cc line bug which means maybe one car every lap will go off at the first corner (annoying when you're battling for the lead).
I downloaded Paul Hoad's track editor, and tried to change the line through that corner. (I am a track editing novice, and didn't completely understand the tutorials). Unfortunately, GP3 crashes when I try to load that track, TE refuses to open some .GP3 files, and any track that I have saved in TE crashes the game - even if I have opened a working track in TE, not changed a thing, then saved and used it in the game!
Surely this doesn't happen to everyone else? I would welcome any advice you may have as to why this may be happening? Is there another track editor I could use?
Thanks in anticipation,
Salvatore
Re: track editor problems
Date: January 22, 2008 03:29PM
Posted by: R_Scandura
have you tried to insert again the magicdata?

-------------------------------
Date: January 22, 2008 03:36PM
Thanks for your reply.
I'm guessing it is not acceptable simply to adjust the cc line by modifying a couple of values in one or two track sections and then save it. What do I need to do with the magic data then if I only want to change one corner of a track.
Do I need to modify things within the MD file with Cmagic?
Date: January 22, 2008 03:55PM
So the track I have saved needs me to insert magic data to make it work.
So if I want to edit a GP3 file do I need to get first get its magic data, edit the track sections in Track editor, save the new track as a .GP3 file and then reinsert the original magic data into the track file. Is that what to do?
Does the Track editor though not read in values from the magic data eg fuel consumption ,track grip etc and save it in the GP3 track file?