Should Geoff crammond open GP3 source code?

Posted by GpFANtastic 
Should Geoff crammond open GP3 source code?
Date: March 18, 2006 07:07PM
Posted by: GpFANtastic
question is in the topic,

the second question is, would he do it?

Re: Should Geoff crammond open GP3 source code?
Date: March 18, 2006 07:42PM
Posted by: Gang$ta
w00t very usefull topic:P maybe if you pass him some $ :=)
Date: March 18, 2006 08:00PM
Posted by: Brianf666
I'll assume he's no longer making any serious money out of the GPx series and say, he would if it means being the creator of the longest-lasting computer game of all time. I got a friend who plays Championship Manager and every year he buys the new version. Thanks to all the race-crazy enthusiasts, we have that already in GP3, 2k and 4, with just the differences in graphics and style.

Would the source code give us much more? I don't know as I'm not a programmer. Would it mean we could tweak GP3 into giving us individual setups and shapes for each car? Would it allow more realistic tyre wear and blistering? Would it mean we could tailor qualifying and strategies just like the real thing? Would it let us set up driver characteristics to be as mad as Sato or as mean as Schumi used to be? As erratic as JPM?

Nico bites yer tyres!
Date: March 19, 2006 08:03AM
Posted by: PIQUET FAN
If this code is usefull to make big changes into gameplay, would be very nice to see what gp3 could turn into...
I think the code which would be more interesting to be opened is the gp4 one, 'coz it's harder than gp3 to edit. Specially tracks. I'd try to turn gp4 into a not so heavy game for my pc...... =P
Date: March 20, 2006 12:46AM
Posted by: GpFANtastic
Brianf666 Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------

> Would the source code give us much more?

jep,
you could turn the game into whatever you wan't. If you are mighty of the language of the source code and additi. understand his code, you can manipualte everything.