gfx cards and Thermal paste, how???

Posted by Peat 
gfx cards and Thermal paste, how???
Date: December 06, 2006 04:46PM
Posted by: Peat
Ok fellas,

im having one last go at fixing my graphics card (ATI Sapphire Atlantis 9600XT)*waits for the scoffs.

It crashes frequently (9 times out of 10) when i run rfactor or RBR (the only games i run). It always requires me to pull the power out of the back, and leave it out for a few mins, to be able to get out of it.

I have been chasing this problem around for over 6 months now. The crash causes the game to freeze, then the screen goes blank and the standby light comes on (on the monitor).

I thought i had fixed it when i discovered that it was overclocked by 50%!!!! i reduced this to 0% and it ran fine for a few weeks, then the crashes started again.

The long and short of it is, i reckon that the chip must STILL be overheating (even with extra fan and the side of the case off).

So, i wanna take him apart and replace the thermal paste. (i think the original paste must be totally fried out after being overclocked for so long)

So, how would one go about doing this??

Chars

Peaty

Re: gfx cards and Thermal paste, how???
Date: December 06, 2006 04:55PM
Posted by: gav
The paste will be fine. It'll be cheap natty stuff, but it'll be fine.

In short, replacing the paste isn't going to stop an overheating chip from overheating.

What does the ATI Catalyst Control Center say regarding temperature?
Date: December 06, 2006 05:06PM
well, im running at 35 degrees C now with word/acrobat reader/firefox and realplayer open (doubt that last bit of info is of any use mind)

I cant find out what temp it is when it crashes because it kills my PC totally. No amount of pressing alt-tab or ctrl-alt-delete can rescue it from that stage.

Date: December 06, 2006 06:35PM
35c? Are you reading the graphics card or the CPU? 35c seems a bit on the low side for a 9600... or any graphics card now I think of it.
Date: December 06, 2006 07:17PM