HELP!!! GP4 Keeps Crashing

Posted by Chris Freek 
HELP!!! GP4 Keeps Crashing
Date: October 03, 2007 05:22PM
Posted by: Chris Freek
Hi, pls be patient with me as I'm a total novice at all of this....here goes....

I tried to update the McLaren car to one I downloaded: MP422, but not knowing what to do with the files I mucked around with some of the .wad files but just ended up with a white car. I then decided to abandon the whole thing as I just wanted to play the game. So I uninstalled the game and did a fresh install. Now the game crashes when I'm on the starting grid. It doesn't just crash to desktop..it restarts my PC.

Any help would be appreciated. Please remember that I'm an absolute numpty when it comes to this kind of thing!
Re: HELP!!! GP4 Keeps Crashing
Date: October 03, 2007 11:12PM
Posted by: mortal
Please post your gpx_patch error log. For more info see the GP4FAQ sticky topic :-)

[www.mediafire.com] Some say you should click it, you know you want to. :-) [www.gp4central.com] <----GP4 Central
Date: October 04, 2007 12:25AM
I can't find the error log...where do I look for it?, I've looked in C:\Program Files\Infogrames\Grand Prix 4

I did warn that I'm a gimpoid!! :)
Date: October 04, 2007 01:58PM
download and use gpx-patch, again I suggest that you read through the FAQ ;-)

[www.mediafire.com] Some say you should click it, you know you want to. :-) [www.gp4central.com] <----GP4 Central
Date: October 04, 2007 02:14PM
Yeah, I took your advice and read through the FAQs. I downloaded the GPX patch and have been running the game through that. I haven't had any crashes so far but now I have white cars, especially the Ferrari's and also some cars suddenly change into the Jaguar when I approach them. Looked through the FAQs about this problem but couldn't find anything except a broken link.

any help will be appreciated. GP4 is an amazing game, the best F1 game I've ever played, but it's so buggy which kind of takes the edge off the enjoyment.