Floppity -flop sounds from approaching cars- yikes!

Posted by LarryM 
Floppity -flop sounds from approaching cars- yikes!
Date: April 23, 2003 01:07AM
Posted by: LarryM
Back from vacation in Gran Canaria. :( Nice karting outdoors there).
Anyway back to GP4. I have for some time had a warp in my sound in one particular area. Other cars engines' sounds coming from behind (or side) are not engine sounds but floppity-floppity-flerp-flerp-sounds sorry ;) .
It sounds a bit like a flat tyre..but worse. When (if) they get past me the engines sound right again. The same applies to the pits. When Williams starts up it's engine in the garage beside mine the sound is weird (used to be a deep manly growl).

I would put the start of this phenomenen at around the time of the Brazilain Grand prix- that was when I started practicing in the rain. The rain brings in some new sounds (including something like floppity-flop): could the sounds have been corrupted. I recopied the sound folders and samples from the CD, but it made no change.

Has anyone else experienced this? Do you know what has happened?

Post Edited (04-23-03 08:09)

Larry
AMD 3000+,Epox EP-8RDA,Ram 1536mb 333 DDr, Rad 9800 pro omega 2.4.96, dx9b, Audigy, MOMO FF,winxp
Re: Floppity -flop sounds from approaching cars- yikes!
Date: April 23, 2003 01:30AM
Posted by: jp2
yes, i know this ! used to describe the sound as flap-flap-flap, so i guess it's the same... sometimes it happens in qualifying, sometimes in sat or fri practice, but never in race.

sorry, i have to tell you this is one of the weirdest problems i ever had in gp4. copying the original sound folder from the cd did not cure it for me either.

the first time i had it, it started after editing gp4 with gp4edit (at least this is what i believe). i cant remember how i got rid of it.

the second time i did not have a clue why it started, but it went away after a defrag of my hd, reinstall of gp4 etc, cant remember, was a terrible evening.