Installing tracks

Posted by kas 
Installing tracks
Date: September 27, 2002 03:32AM
Posted by: kas
Please can someone out there give me a step-by-step guide on how to install new downloaded tracks into GP3-2000 using GPXPatch.
I have been using gp3 for a few years and now am fed up with racing the same circuits all the time.
I have downloaded tracks and unzipped them (I think) but have not been able to install them with GPXPatch (v2.21).
I also need to know how to put the original tracks back if i ever get a d/l track to work.
Any help / tips would be gratefully accepted.
I know this subject has been covered before, but not in a simple step guide for novice editors like me, it all sounds so confusing !
KAS
Re: Installing tracks
Date: September 27, 2002 04:13AM
Posted by: Nik
Right, what you need to do is this

GpXpatch doesn't actually install the tracks for you, it just allows you to use them once you have installed them. Its a very manual proceedure though

1. Unzip all the bits and bobs, in there there should be .txt file usually called gp3form.txt and this will tell you what to do.

2. Say the readme file asks you to make a new directory in your GP3jamsh folder (which is inside the grand prix 3 directory) then put all the .jam files into that, then do that, as this is where gp3 will look for the textures for the downloaded track. You will be asked to give the folder a specific name, DO THAT! the track will not work if the name of the folder you just made is not identical to that described in the readme file

Important, if you use Software rendering mode, then you need to download software optimised version of the tracks, and the folder with the jams in will have to be placed in the gp3jams folder (note the h is missing from this folder)

3. Place the trackfile in the circuits directory, in your grand prix 3 directory, it is not necessary to rename it to the slot of the track that you want to replace.