Anyone work night shifts here?

Posted by RenaultFan 
Anyone work night shifts here?
Date: February 05, 2013 12:42AM
Posted by: RenaultFan
Hi Guys

Haven't been around much here often but its always great to come around and see how guys are doing here.

I was wondering if anyone here works on night shift and how do they like it? I have never worked a night shift before ( always been days ) but after losing my job back in 2011 I have been on my severance from my former employer, which was nice because I could work odd jobs and still maintain my current wage. But now I am back to working full time and found a job here in town that pays pretty decent and is pretty stable ( as stable as can be these days I guess ) but it is on the nightshift and 12 hours shifts at that. I will work two on two off and three on three off. I just dont know how I will adjust? I may like it I may hate it. I will find out which one it is come Wednesday night-Thursday morning ;)

Anybody have any tips?

But most importantly,lol I will have to record some f1 races if I'm working. But I should be home in time for the european stretch of the calendar as Im in Canada so races start here at 8am. The first few races of the year will have to be recorded though
Re: Anyone work night shifts here?
Date: February 05, 2013 01:10AM
Posted by: flat tyre
I'm hopeless at waking up at all, let alone all this night shift business, so don't ask me! But, when my old man used to work he did night shifts every other week. I can't remember if he had any routines or anything like that (will let you know if I remember), but a very good thing to do is wear earplugs when you go to sleep during the day. And I think that eating meals earlier/later than usual is a good way to change your body clock.

A word of warning - although the money is good, night shifts can drive you a bit mad in the long run! ...as I saw for myself ;)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------