I'm new to GP4 and need major help, lol

Posted by 2chance1 
I'm new to GP4 and need major help, lol
Date: October 13, 2010 01:16PM
Posted by: 2chance1
Alright. So my friend came over and he had this game, I told him I've watched YouTube videos and that this game was cool so he installed it and stuff. Anyway. I followed the guide of patching it, putting the decoded/decrypted exe, the other patch, and yet, I still have several problems:

I'm having white boxes and white textures on stuff
My controls aren't working correctly. I have a Logitech Driving Force GT Wheel.

Can anyone help meh? I'd appreciate it! :D
Re: I'm new to GP4 and need major help, lol
Date: October 13, 2010 01:52PM
Posted by: harjinator
white boxes and white textures is a symptom of using the 9.6 patch exe, but not installing the 9.6 patch (or vice versa). try reinstalling the 9.6 patch, and re-copying over the exe. If that doesn't fix it, it's normally a reinstall job in my experience

Can't help you with the controls i'm afraid - in what way 'aren't working' ?

Team Japan Owner - GPGNC
Date: October 13, 2010 10:40PM
I calibrate my wheel, but when I go to the controls menu to specify how to shift, gas, brake, etc.. the options are greyed out.
Date: October 14, 2010 01:32AM
Posted by: noncon
For the white cars, you may have to go into graphics options|Advanced, and cycle between Automatic and Manual setting, then see if the white cars now have color.

As for the wheel, I have the same Logitech Driving Force as you do, here is my .con file.

[www.4shared.com]

Just put the file in your GP4 directory, start game, go to Controls|Advanced then choose Load Control Set, locate the file, click OK and it should work.

KJ
Date: October 14, 2010 02:14AM
Alrighty, thanks.
Date: October 15, 2010 02:03AM
I don't understand why the graphics are so buggy in this game. I unticked the TV graphics options and I still get white boxes and untextured objects. I patched the game correctly, too.