livery design advices

Posted by Calligaris 
livery design advices
Date: November 14, 2019 04:02PM
Posted by: Calligaris
Hey guys, Calligaris here, rookie GPSL driver and thankful follower of these forums.

As I previously stated in another thread asking for modding advice, I am very thankful for the work many of you put into creating modding tools, models and even full mods.
Thanks to all of this content I was finally able to privately run my personal fantasy F1 championship now in its third season.

Now getting to the point...
As I see the great liveries some of you create, especially each season in the GPSL. I was looking for some advice ton improve my own craft as I am a beginner, I'll probably post some of the liveries I've made to show my level. I apologise in advance for the amount of questions asked ad thank those who will answer for their patience one or more questions.

Firstly, some technical questions.

I use MDBSnake's models and paint them with Gimp, while using Zmodeler to keep an eye on the final result. Problem is Gimp isn't very useful when it comes to Alpha channels, I haven't used alpha channels much for now, but it is necessary as cars tend to become mirrors with realistic skyes. I have another program (DXTBMP) which I use to modify Alpha channels usually, but it isn't the most practical thing, and liveries tend to become a little bit transparent when i darken the Alpha channel.

So my questions regarding this are, would you advise me to use a different image editor altogether, which one would you recommend. ? Do you use a separate editor for the alpha channels, how dark do you usually set them to be and do your liveries get a bit transparent as well ?

Now some less technical and more artistic questions (although i realise the answers to these will be more dependent on personal taste)