Site Announcement for Discussion.

Posted by mortal 
Re: Site Announcement for Discussion.
Date: January 28, 2022 04:06AM
Posted by: miki2000milos
I'll make another comment as I feel I can add to the discussion on data collection (I have an IT background - albeit somewhat short as I'm still a student)
I believe it's no more of a concern on Discourse as it is right now. If you read the current privacy policy (it's at the very bottom of the page), you'll find that IP and device info are collected even on the current forum (which is also the case on all forums I'm a part of), which you can negate if you use Tor browser (it gives access to the website through a proxy, so it gives different device+IP while hiding yours). I think this is collected mainly to prove a person is accessing the site, as there are a lot of bots around with more malicious intent.
I've read Discourse's privacy policy too, didn't notice anything unusual. They mention that Google's cookies are used if Google analytics is configured, and I expect they'll be configured as it expands the site's reach in google searches. That said, you can disable 3rd party cookies in your browser, but also basically all websites give the option to disable 3rd party cookies as a prompt.

I didn't initially want to comment on alternatives to Discourse, as I believe they were considered by Mal and Stefan before making the post. I'd expect the script for migrating content was the deciding factor. For me the main issue with the current layout, is the scaling on mobile (not the page layout, but small buttons and hyperlinks). But I'm noticing we all have small issues with the current layout, that an update would likely resolve. Therefore I'm still very much for the change.

GPGSL - Yakuza driver

GPGSL activity check app: Direct link - Source code - Have you posted?
Date: January 28, 2022 01:14PM
Posted by: Dahie